General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 03-12-2013, 01:30 PM   #1  
Melissa

Height: 5'6.5"

Default How in the heck do you find a good paying job?

So, this is the deal. I have a degree in Spanish and a M.Ed in Higher education administration (to work in university services). I have stayed home with my kids for the last 8 years.

This past year I have worked part time as a Sunday School Director (and teacher) and for half a year I worked part-time temporary as a blog writer (had three bosses in that time!)

Now, I'm looking again and there's like NOTHING.

I've applied to a few things within the same org. I worked part-time as I have good references from that job, but I didn't get an interview for the full-time job. I did get an interview for the part-time job. I was one of 80 applicants and one of 7 they interviewed. I still didn't get the lousy part-time job!

My husband has put a 35,000 minimum salary needed for me to go back to work (it's the amount that would make sense - anything less than that and I might as well not work). Well NOW???

I interview very well. I have good references, but my skills are EXTREMELY generic. I don't have mad computer programming skills. I don't have certifications in any speciality. So what can I do???

Then, I start looking at going back to school WAH!!!!! I don't want to! I have BTDT and the idea of taking a GRE again about gives me the heebie jeebies as I know I'll have to really study for them as I'm 43 and do NOT remember all the math I used to know, etc. and everything I look at would take me 2-3 years to re-educate.