General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 02-16-2011, 02:16 PM   #16  
PCOS/IR/Hypothyroid

Height: 5'8"

It depends on the people and their self esteem. The mismatch in education isn't really it at the root -- it is the self esteem.

I finished my degree but Dh did not, and it isn't a problem. My mom and dad however... it was a problem but they were the same -- neither finished their degrees.

But my mom made more than my dad. It bugged him and it came out in many ways. He felt "less" somehow no matter how many times she told him she did not feel that way.

A.

Last edited by astrophe; 02-16-2011 at 02:17 PM.
astrophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 02:22 PM   #17  
Succes <3

S/C/G: 209/192.4/143

Height: 5'5''

I think that person is mistaking.... In my country more women than men are getting a university degree.... But then again we have a 50 % divorce rate.....

Last edited by Bonita; 02-16-2011 at 02:24 PM.
Bonita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:03 PM   #18  

S/C/G: 252/see ticker/199

Height: 5'7"

My husband and I have been on both sides of this fence. I've been more educated than him but currently he's caught up to me and is about to pass me.

Did it make a difference either way? Not in the least. I guess it's that we see ourselves more as a "unit" - when one advances it betters the entire family and that's what's most important.

So ultimately, I think the physician you work with is correct, but for the wrong reason: Those who have a problem with their spouse advancing at a different pace are just insecure and/or selfish which will cause problems in their marriage no matter what. If it's not education it's that the wife did something else better. It's a no-win situation.
XLMuffnTop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:07 PM   #19