General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 12-30-2008, 12:17 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 158/142/at or below 135 lbs.

Height: 5'5"

Default Need meal idea for family visit- including kids!

Hi everyone,

My sister is in town for the holidays with her three kids, so tomorrow we are having her family over, plus my folks, plus my brother, SIL, and their kids. Additionally, a couple of friends may stop by.

I want to fix a relatively easy meal that will work for a crowd. I'm a good cook, but I usually just cook for two! I don't want anything fancy for tomorrow.

All ideas and recipes are welcome!! Thanks!
walking2lose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 12:28 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 260/154.6/130

Height: 5'4"

How about taco soup??? Whenever I have friends over, I make this awesome soup. You can either use ground turkey or lean ground beef. If you go on allrecipes and type in taco soup, there will be different variations. It is so simple too. Just brown your beef/turkey and onions and dump everything into a pot and let it cook for 1-2 hours or you can let it cook all day

It is a great idea because each person can add their favorite toppings: cheese, guacamole, sour cream, corn bread etc

One of the recipes from that site that I use

* 2 pounds lean ground beef
* 1 onion, chopped
* 1 (4 ounce) can diced green chiles (ROTEL)
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
* 1 (15 ounce) can pinto beans, drained
* 1 (15 ounce) can ranch style black beans
* 1 (1.25 ounce) package taco seasoning mix
* 1 1/2 cups water
* 1 (1 ounce) package ranch dressing mix
* 1 (15 ounce) can white hominy, drained
* 1 (14.5 ounce) can stewed tomatoes
* 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 can of corn

1. In a large Dutch oven, brown the beef and chopped onion over medium heat. Drain off any fat.