Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Closed Thread

Old 01-13-2001, 03:45 AM   #1  

Hey all-

I am having trouble comming up with ideas on some low fat ways of packing my lunch for school. I am a college student who commutes and would like to start bringing my lunches to school because of the cost of eatting food there and also because of the lack of low fat choices. I do not want to have to bring raw veggies everyday like I have been doing so any ideas will be great

Thanks
Bonaofthepink
Old 01-13-2001, 11:57 PM   #2  

Can you buy a carton of fat free milk. I like cereal for lunch with dried cranberries or even a banana. If you want fiber the Kashi Go Lean cereal is great and very filling. Go to www.kashi.com and click on their location code and put in your zip code to see where their products are sold in your area. The Kashi Go Lean bars are wonderful and very filling. They are big. My favorite is the Choc Peanut Butter. Drink lots of water with them and you will be full. Do you have a Trader Joes near you www.traderjoes.com and the location site, to see if they are in your area. You must have a microwave available, what about soup, TV Dinner, or any thing you can warm up. You can bring cup a soup that you just add hot water or make your own fat free veggie soup at home and bring to warm up. Bring it in a microwaveable container to heat. Cottage cheese and fruit, jello cups, pudding cups, bring a turkey sandwich or purchase one. You can buy low fat microwave pop corn and pop for a snack. In a microwave you could even fix a baked potato, Bocoburger (a very good soy product), Gardenburger, there is a very good already cooked chicken patty put out by Tyson in the frozen section. Called Mesquite Grilled Chicken. You just warm in the microwave. Or you could bring a salad and have strips of the chicken patty on top of the salad.