3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Food Talk And Fabulous Finds (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/food-talk-fabulous-finds-17/)
-   -   Tortilla Pizza (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/food-talk-fabulous-finds/277056-tortilla-pizza.html)

Bluejaybythesea 03-06-2013 02:25 AM

Tortilla Pizza

Hey guys.

So I made some tortilla pizzas tonight using low-carb tortillas, a portion of cheese and a whole bunch of veggies. It was mostly alright, I feel like it could had been great but some things went wrong.

Most of this had to do with the tortilla. It became kinda rubbery and the edges didn't brown, they burnt.

I pre-heated the oven to 475 and let the pizzas cook for 10 mins, until the cheese got a little gold on top. When the tortilla was just brown the toppings where not done. I am a pretty good cook but I'm really scratching my head over this one. never cooked a tortilla in the oven.

amandie 03-06-2013 02:48 AM

Hi! I love tortilla type of pizzas. I learned from experience that it is best to saute the veggies first (usually onions, bell peppers and baby spinach) because like what happened in your situation, the veggies do not get done and the tortilla gets burned. Also, the veggies taste better that way, lol. Usually I bake them at 400-425 for 15-20 minutes, just until the cheese turns a bit brown. I use regular whole wheat tortillas and the flatout wraps with no rubbery textures or anything like that so it may be the low-carb tortilla you are using? Edges do get hard which is normal.

My personal favorite for is BBQ sauce as the base instead of tomato sauce, shredded/diced chicken, sauteed baby spinach and red onions. Yum!!

Bluejaybythesea 03-06-2013 03:01 AM

That sounds really good. I am gonna try the low-carb tortilla again to keep the calories down and see if I mess with the temp and time if it makes it better. I didn't even think of sauteing the veggies first.