Awesome Raw Veggie Find

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • So I have been perusing past this strange looking vegetable for abour 2 years in my local grocery store. I finally broke down this week and bought it. WOW! It is called Jicama-I think pronounced hee-ka-ma. It comes in several sizes ranging from small turnip to large grapefruit size. You just peel it, slice it, and enjoy! It tastes awesome-kind of like a sweet turnip or a not so sweet apple with just a hint of radish flavor. It comes from Mexico and South America. It is a root vegetable.

I looked up the health benefits of it and of course it is low in calories, 1 serving can contain up to 40% of the daily required vitamin C. It also has some of the same healing properties that onions do. It is also high in fiber.

Anyway-very excited about this find. Carrots and celery were getting a little bit old. I have added a new crudite to my arsenal! Enjoy!
  • I may have to try some! Thanks for mentioning it. Does it brown after cutting? I like to get all of my stuff cut up at one time and keep them in containers in the fridge.

Have you tried eating sugar snap peas raw? They have them in my grocery area in the steamer bags and I just buy those and eat them raw almost daily. Same thing on snow peas. Yum.
  • The Biggest Loser 30-Day Quick Start has a wonderful recipe for Peanutty dip to have with jicama.
  • I think that is a good idea - i am always afraid to buy a vegetable or fruit when I don't know what it is - I wil try one and maybe pick one new fruit or vegetable a week to try.
  • Chayote Squash (often called Chayote Fruit) is really good, too.
  • Here in Southern California jicama is a standard off the Mexican fruit street carts mixed with cucumber and pineapple and mango or melon. They give you a tart/hot salt to sprinkle over. Fun snack.