Food Temperature Related to Satisfaction?

• Hi ladies,

I just had a little conversation with my boss in the lunch room (she was tasting my lunch - kale, carrots, zucchini and white beans cooked with a little bit of olive oil and garlic!) and she said, "Are you going to eat that hot or cold? Does warmness having anything to do with feeling satisfied, do you think?"

Well, good question! Have y'all noticed that either warm or cold food helps you feel fuller, more satisfied, etc.?
  • For me, I haven't noticed but if a meal was a "heated" meal and I ate it cold, it always drove my momma batty
  • One of my issues with the raw food diet, which I'm merging into more and more each day, is I want some things warm, but you know I have the dehydrator i'm still learning how to use lol. You can warm things up...

I guess I'm on the line on that one. I think warm can make you feel more comforted, but yet I've had cold cucumber soup and found that exciting and satisfying.

When I'm sick I want hot soup though...so maybe there is something to the level of warmth versus satisfaction.
  • It's all dependent on my cravings...sometimes I just want something warm, and I'll go for soup or reheated leftovers (if it's breakfast or lunch). Other times if I want something cold, the only thing that'll satisfy my hunger is something like cereal with cold milk, or a cup of cold watermelon or cantaloupe cubes. If I'm wanting something cold and eat something warm, it just doesn't hit the spot...
  • Hm, interesting. I suppose as a rule of thumb, hot food is a meal and cold food is a snack, for me.
  • Depends. In the winter I like things warm (I was never one for piping hot), and in the summer, I like things cold. In the summer, I eat all sorts of things cold (or room temp) that are normally warm entrees, including salads of rice and cooked veggies. I also like a lot more raw in the summer. Then when it gets cold, I'm ready for a change.