Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Old 05-17-2009, 01:30 AM   #1  
Jessica

S/C/G: 186/164.7/130

Height: 5'0''

Default Quick Healthy Meals at Work!?

I am fairly new here, and I am wondering if anyone out there has any suggestions. I am looking for quick healthy meals for one the go mornings, and also for quick healthy lunches for work and maybe a few snacks.

Like many of you I work fulltime, Im a fulltime student, and mother of a very active 4 year old. I'm not looking for a "quick fix" i am working very hard at staying on track for the new me, but i am getting bored with my yogurt and granola for breakfast, and either healthy choice frozen meals, or cold cut sandwiches for lunch. Please Help!
woobers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 01:53 AM   #2  
Let's do this!

S/C/G: 210/149/140

Height: 5'6.5

Hi there

I truly believe that *anything* can be "quick and easy" if you plan for it (and have the right storage containers ).

If you have 30 minutes to an hour where you can be in your kitchen some nights of the week or weekend, you can have plenty of choices to grab during the day.

I make egg muffins for DH twice a week. I take a muffin tin and add egg beaters and cheese (and veggies if I am eating them) and bake at 350 until they are cooked. Then, DH just pops them in the microwave every morning for 30 seconds.

I will also make DH's lunch casseroles every Sunday night (my lunches are provided) and put them in storage containers. DH grabs them out of the freezer when he makes his lunch. The same thing goes for our salad greens. We save a ton of $$ by buying heads of lettuce instead of bags. I invested in a $10 salad spinner and store our greens in there (I need to replace every 3 days or so and it takes about 10 minutes to chop, wash, and spin). DH puts the greens in a ziplock bag and keeps his dressing in a small container as well as at his office.

Other snack ideas: