Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Old 08-15-2007, 02:46 PM   #1  
Closed

Default Some new foods I've enjoyed

They're new to me anyway.

Dr. Praeger's sweet potato pancakes. I buy them frozen at a natural food store. Mostly they're sweet potato and egg white. 80 calories per pattie, 2 grams of good fat and vitamins the like of which you only get in orange veggies. They taste good plain. Quite different from sweet potato when browned up. It does take about sixteen minutes to broil them. Praeger is a cardiologist turned health food seller.

Kale - I've been eating it as greens for a few years. Today for the first time I blended three kale leaves with soymilk and frozen banana to make a shake. It was quite tasty with the usual dose of saccharin that I put into smoothees. Doesn't taste anything like kale but then this is raw. A week ago I blended up the kale stems with water to make a bright green base for soup. Neither of these experiments killed me or created any noticeable digestive problems. Kale was a favorite of the ancient Greeks, practically the only vegetable they ate. It's know to be one of the most nutritious foods. Broccoli is descended from kale. No such thing as wild broccoli.
Greens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 03:54 PM   #2  
it's always something

The sweet potato pancakes sound good! I'll have to look for them.

I've never had kale, which is probably unusual for a Southerner Mom used to cook it all the time, but I never tried it. I finally bought some, but haven't fixed it yet.

I've had spinach/fruit smoothies which were good
Suzanne 3FC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 06:36 PM   #3  
Closed

Get rid or the stems unless you want to blend them. They're hard to digest unless they're cooked for hours. Simmer the leaf part of the kale for about fifteen minutes. A little butter salt and pepper on them is great. They're chewy and a little juicy that way.