3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Featherweights (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/featherweights-197/)
-   -   New in "town"... (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/featherweights/238096-new-town.html)

Under1Rule 07-14-2011 02:22 PM

New in "town"...

Hey guys, I am new to the 3fatchicks forum, although I have been reading some of the threads for a while. That alone has given me so much helpful advice, so thank you all!

I realize there are so many posts about counting calories and even weight loss for shorter girls (I am 5.2), but I suppose I am just wanting to check with you all and make sure that I am doing what is most helpful and healthful for me. Here is some information:

Weight: currently 118.8, down from 140 (using weightwatchers for the first 20 and calorie counting for the last 5/6 Lbs)

Activity: I love to excercise not only for the physical benefits, but also for the emotional benefits as a stress reliever. I run 3 miles 3-4 times per week at a 6.5 pace. During run days, I strength train lightly (mainly focus on my glutes and thighs). On days when I do not run, I do the eliptical at level 6 or walk 4.3 mph at a 10 incline. On these days, I focus more on weight lifting and do more glutes and legs, but also incorporate arms. Each time I do weights, I do 3 sets of 16 repititions, both for arms and legs.

Food Lifestyle: For a while I did the points system, but then that just became too much of an issue being at school and home and having to coincide my eating with my family's pantry or the caf at school. So, then I switched to calorie counting, and I actually think it is working better for me. Psychologically, I prefer to think in higher numbers ( calories) than lower numbers (points); it makes me think I have more food to eat.