3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Exercise! (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/exercise-34/)
-   -   Asthma driving me mad (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/exercise/75086-asthma-driving-me-mad.html)

kykaree 02-02-2006 12:41 PM

Asthma driving me mad

I have been exercising regularly for 12 months now. At the moment my asthma is very episodal (allergic to carpet at work - long story) For the past few days I have been wheezing pretty much on and off all day, but it's fine overnight. Should I lay off the exercise until things settle down or try to work through it? My doctor is not much use (can't get an appointment for two weeks) and even if I do see him basically says to do whatever I think is right.

Sheila53 02-02-2006 03:16 PM

I know nothing about asthma, but you might want to check the Dieting with Obstacles forum here and see if there's an asthma group.

I hope that the asthma lightens up soon for you.

Tani 02-02-2006 03:56 PM

Hey fellow asthma chick

It's horrible that you have an allergin at work that you can't get away from. It makes my lungs hurt just thinking about it. Do you take a daily maintenance drug for your asthma? or do you only have a rescue inhaler? Are you using them regularly? If you can't avoid this trigger, you've got to get your medication adjusted to cope with it.

If your doctor isn't helpful then I'd suggest finding a new doc.

If excercising is very uncomfortable or makes your asthma worse, I would suggest laying off until you get this issue resolved. If exercise doesn't make it worse, I'd probably keep it up at whatever level was comfortable. Do you have a flow meter? What are your numbers like? Don't wait 2 weeks for an appointment if you're in the red zone.

I hope you feel better soon!

kykaree 02-02-2006 04:42 PM