Want to start running on the treadmill....but....

• I *really* want to start running. Right now, running outside is *not* an option (spring might be right around the corner, but it definitely has not arrived in my neck of the woods, and I have no desire to go running in snow/ice), so my only real option is running on a treadmill at the gym.

But.

...I can't seem to do it! I do fine walking at speeds right up to 4.5 mph, but put me any higher than that and I can't do it. I mean, seriously, put the speed up to 4.6 and I literally have to hang onto the sides just to keep upright. I don't know, it's like I'm sliding backwards off the machine. All I can picture is me, flying backwards off the treadmill like a goon.

So I need some serious advice here. I really don't know how to run, as silly as that sounds, and I am open to any and all advice, because I *know* there's a runner in me somewhere, and I want her to come out!
  • i'm new at running VERY NEW. AND VERY HEAVY , I walk at a 2.5 AND "JOG" AT a 2.8.

but guess what ? I'm doing it! to me your 4 would be a sprint lol

ok that note just JOG even if it seems like a slow jog to you. Before long you will WANT to speed it up.

GOOD LUCK
  • Maybe that is a little to fast for your running style even though you can walk at that speed?
    Try something slower, like 3.0-3.5 and just go from walking into a nice easy jog. Small steps to keep your balance.
    When I first started out, I was running at about that speed and my strides were very small. I think I had to take small strides to keep my balance due to my weak core and carrying all the extra weight.
    Most people start out alternating between walking and jogging anyways, so picking a speed you can switch between the two will be very helpful!
    Good luck!
  • I am almost 60 years, and i at the most go upto 4.3m per hour. But, I have to run. I think i have to increase my strides.