Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 07-24-2011, 08:57 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 220/194/150

Height: 5'7

Default Phen, anti-depressants, and cardio

Hi,

I've been doing weight watchers for 8 months, and have lost, then gained back 10 lbs.... I tend to always think about food, almost obsessively.

In a moment of desperation I got an rx for Phentermine, 30 mg a day... I generally eat healthy: fruits and veg, not too many carbs, no sweets, no crap no fried food, and I attend karate classes 4 days a week....

My reasoning was that it's tough to keep working at this with out some sort o payoff....if I'm doing something and losing weight, I'll keep doing it. But when I'm not losing....there's no motivation

So, I've been taking phen since last Thursday, and now I'm paranoid, reading online about horrible problems and people dying from it. I'm not sure if these are legit, common, or whatever..

But: consider that I take anti-depressants, anti-seizure and mood stabilizers... and I have a mitral valve prolapse ( valve issue in my heart).

I've been side lined due to shin splints so I haven't been doing the heavy cardio I'm used to....now I'm scared to do it, afraid I'm going to pass out or something.

What has been anyone's experience? THe Dr that prescribed it is my PCP, not my psychiatrist.

I weigh 205, need to lose 40-50 lbs...so it's not like I'm doing this for vanity pounds....
Optical Goddess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 09:39 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 250/168/150

Height: 5'7"

Did your doctor order an EKG for you first? That was one of the conditions my doctor had for me before he would give me Phentermine. I don't know enough about it to know if your heart condition would be an issue with Phentermine, but it does sound like cause for concern to be addressed with a doctor. Good luck!