Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 03-19-2009, 02:09 AM   #1  
The High-Carb Rebel

S/C/G: 175ish/175ish/145ish

Default Advice for losing weight gained from meds...

Hey there everyone Long time no see.

So, once upon a time, I lost around 30-40 lbs and at last became fit and healthy. Now, nearly three years later, I have gained 100 lbs from where I was when I graduated high school.

There are plenty of reasons why I've gained so much, but perhaps the most significant of these has been my medications. Right now I'm taking 300 mg of Zoloft, 200 mg of Lamictal, and 30 mg of Adderall. This combination has worked better for my depression/anxiety/ADD than anything I've tried thus far, so I'd rather not change it. It seems that every time my doctor and I "experiment" with alternatives, it doesn't turn out so well.

And therein lies the problem... I can't stop taking the meds that have contributed to my weight gain and my insatiable hunger, but I want to lose weight. Is it even possible? Would the stress of trying to lose weight now just send me back into another depressive episode? These are things I've carefully considered. I've even thought about some form of lap band surgery because I am so afraid of failing again. I had to buy size 20 pants yesterday... and while my boyfriend doesn't mind (he likes that my boobs and butt are bigger, haha), I am very uncomfortable with my body as it is now.

Is this at all possible? Can I ever overcome my junk food cravings while on these meds? Am I just setting myself up for failure?

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks <3
lessthansign3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 11:09 AM   #2