3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Chicks up for a Challenge (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/chicks-up-challenge-159/)
-   -   Sugar Free July (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/chicks-up-challenge/261965-sugar-free-july.html)

CurvyNerd 06-30-2012 09:20 AM

Sugar Free July

I posted about this over at Chicks In Control but I think it belongs here.

This was my original post:

I had a breakthrough in my thinking and took a break from dieting. I've been reading for a week but not posting while I think about what I need to do for myself. I am new to this. I have a problem with emotional eating and binging. I'll do okay for a while and then I'll have stressful things going on and eat pretty much everything. I have a big problem with sweets especially. I crave them like I haven't eaten in a week. I'm tired of living like this. I'm looking into OA and trying to learn how to stop the cause of my weight problem.

I am contemplating going sugar free for the month of July. This is going to be very hard for me because I can't have artificial sweeteners. I will only be able to drink plain water. Flavored waters make me gag so it'll have to be plain water. There will be no cakes, cookies, cokes, etc. My husband wants to do it with me. There will be coke and tea in the house for the rest of the family but I won't be buying any other sweets. I am kind of scared to even try. I have failed at dieting so many times. I'm going to let myself eat anything other than sweets. The exception would be things like chips and crackers that are also binge problems for me. Those will be carefully portioned out if I eat them at all.

What do you think? Do you think this could help me avoid trigger foods?