Chicks in Control Overeating? Binging? Share uplifting support and gain control!

Closed Thread

Old 01-19-2003, 01:54 AM   #1  
Future marathon runner

S/C/G: 310/185/Where my body takes me

Height: 5'8"

Default Having a really hard time

Hi, I'm new to this forum. I have been reading the posts here for a couple of weeks, and I wanted to post but didn't quite know how.

I set a goal to lose 100lbs, and I've lost 60 of it. I have been battling bulimia off and on for 5 years, and since I started my weight loss, it has gotten pretty bad. I am trying so hard to eat sensibly, and I don't know what is wrong with me, but if I eat until I feel full (not uncomfortably full though), I feel guilty...almost like I shouldn't feel full if I am trying to lose weight. I find that if I am not restricting myself to 500 calories a day, then I am b/p--it's one extreme or the other. I honestly feel helpless a lot of the time. I want to recover, yet at the same time, I am so obsessed with my weight that it's all I can think about. I hope this doesn't sound stupid, I was hoping maybe someone here has been where I am and can offer some advice. Thanks in advance.
Old 01-19-2003, 02:31 PM   #2  

Welcome here! You do NOT sound stupid. I'm in that same boat. I've been bingeing and purging for the better part of 3 years. I have those same feelings. Striking a happy medium is so hard for us. Eat to little and I feel I'm restricting and eventually the dam breaks lose and if I eat too much I feel guilty and binge/purge. It's the perfectionist inside us.

The thing I'm in the process of learning is trust. My physical body knows when it's hunrgy and will tell me and going into the emotional issues when I'm not. Currently I am a raw nerve:-). Withdrawl from a tried and true (bad) habit is painful, no way around it.