Old 03-09-2015, 08:37 AM   #1  
MasterHarper

Height: 5'5"

Default Hello - new carb-counter here

Hi everyone

I have been a calorie-counter all my life. It worked for me before, I lost about 85 lb about 6 years ago. I kept most of it off for a couple of years but it has been creeping back on again - about half of it!!

In Jan I tried calorie counting again as it has worked for me before. Lost 13 lb in about six weeks, but my brain rebelled and after a bad few weeks of eating bad stuff, I have put 9 of those back on again.

So I am looking for a new angle. I have never tried carb-counting before and looking at my calorie record it might be low in calories but it is VERY high in carbs. So I figured I'd try this and see what happens.

Problem is, I really don't like most veggies. I like cooked mushrooms and onions, and lettuce and raw carrot on a salad, but aside from potatoes (which obv I know I can't have) I don't like anything else Oh, except hummus, which I adore so long as it is very smooth and has no hint of the pea-ness. I've just been looking for a way to eat it without pitta bread and I have found a low-carb recipe for almond-based crackers which I'm going to try.

I wouldn't mind trying recipes with hidden veggies that don't taste or feel like veggies. It's the texture more than anything, although I know I dislike the taste of peppers as well as the texture.

So far today I have discovered that if I have as much coffee as I normally have it will boost my carbs WAY up (6g in a single cup). I also can't stand almond milk in my coffee - I have tried it and it tastes vile. But it is nice in smoothies.

However I have just had a very yummy 2-egg omelette for my lunch with 2 oz cheese cooked in real vegetable oil which felt very indulgent and tasted divine and only had 2g carbs.

I gone out and bought lots of eggs and hard-boiled half a dozen for snacks, lots of meat and some frozen fruit to use in small amounts in smoothies with almond milk.