beginning lowcarb and extreme sensitivity?

• I am not, in general, a very sensitive person emotionally. I write for a living, and a thick skin is pretty much a requirement for that job. People are constantly editing my work and telling me what I need to change, and it has NEVER bothered me because that is just how the industry runs.

About 5 days ago, I started eating low carb. My mother lost a lot of weight doing Atkins, and she finally convinced me to try it with her. I've stuck to the plan religiously so far, but today something odd happened.

I checked my email and noticed I had feedback on one of the stories I had submitted. It contained the usual level of constructive feedback and suggested possible ways to fix the issues. However, instead of opening up the document and getting to work, I proceeded to spend the next thirty minutes crying at my computer desk.

I have NEVER had this happen before, and I am wondering if it might be the diet? I'm not sure how or why, but I just seem to be way more emotional about things ever since I started. Has anyone else experienced this?
  • Am I correct in understanding you are doing Atkins?
    Would you mind posting a typical day's menu?
  • Thank you for the response!

Yes I'm doing Atkins. I am still on induction and am trying to stay between 15-20 carbs a day. Yesterday I had:

Breakfast:
    2 eggs, scrambled
    1 strip bacon
    1/2 cup cauliflower

Lunch:
    6 oz Tuna with 2 TBS no sugar added mayo
    1 cup spinach

Snack:
    4 oz Chicken breast with lemon pepper seasoning

Dinner:
    homemade Cobb salad:
    -1 slice of bacon, crumbled
    -1 hardboiled egg
    -4 oz grilled chicken thigh
    -1 cup iceberg lettuce
    -1/2 avocado
    -Bleu Cheese dressing
    (Yes it was a very big salad XD But I made sure to track all of the carbs and it was well within my limit.)