Old 11-12-2010, 11:05 PM   #1  

Default Is only 500-1000 calories per day unhealthy?

I'm new to this whole calorie counting thing. Is it bad to have less than 1000 calories a day? I cant seem to get above 1000 which is fine for me, but I want to make sure its healthy. At first it was less than 500 calories a day but Ive been trying to higher it. It wasn't that I was trying to have it that low, it just happened. I'm not starving or anything either, I just eat low calorie things. I used to think 200 calories per meal was high but then I saw the 400 calorie breakfast so it made me wonder if I'm not getting enough. Any and all info would be helpful!
GypsyQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 12:28 AM   #2  
HealthNutMommy

S/C/G: 170/124/125

Height: 5'3

It is VERY unhealthy to go below 1200 calories. Please do not do this

Your body will eventually go into starvation mode and you will not lose weight. Also, your body will lack the needed nutrients.
pammi2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 01:00 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 183/183/160

Height: 5'6"

No, no =( that is very unhealthy for you! I had to detox for 9 days, and I was eating 800-900 calories, that was the only time I would ever eat that low, and it's only because the foods I was allowed to eat were so low in calories, even en masse. A healthy diet should be 1200+ calories. Even if you find it difficult to eat that much, you need to make yourself do it. Space out your meals, it's okay to have a meal with a "higher" calorie count as long as you are eating things that are good for you, and that you stick to your goal. Shoot for a goal somewhere between 1300-1500 calories per day.
Jelbelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 02:15 AM   #4