3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Atkins (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/atkins-226/)
-   -   New to Atkins (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/atkins/220522-new-atkins.html)

beckyh 12-28-2010 11:08 AM

New to Atkins

Hi everyone! I am new to Atkins, but not new to 3 Fat Chicks. I have lost weight before counting calories, but after I stopped, I gained all of it back plus some. I decided to jump back on the wagon and bought the New Atkins book from Amazon. After reading through, I decided this was what I needed. I started 2 days ago (the day after Christmas) and have lost 3 lbs already. I am very happy with this loss and hope I can keep losing fast.

My best friend has done Atkins with great success in the past and I hope that I can keep it up. My sweet cravings have been super hard to deal with, but have managed to work through them by eating a dill pickle or something very high in protein when I get really bad. I sometimes feel like I am eating too much, but so far it has worked.

My goal is just to get to a healthy BMI by May. I am going to be the "best girl" in my friend Chad's wedding and I want to look pretty in my brides maid dress. Also, I will be 35 in May and just want to be helathier by then.

My ultimate goal is to get down to 140 (I started at 178) and then go from there.

I can't wait to get to "know" everyone on here and I am ready to cheer everyone on in there goal to getting healthy.

yoyoma 12-28-2010 01:39 PM

Hiya and welcome! I am in a similar situation in that I am a long-time 3FC calorie counter (and a yoyo dieting calorie counter prior to 3FC). I didn't wait to regain all my weight (this time!) as I had sworn to myself that if I got this far I'd try Atkins.

That said, I have not truly started Atkins yet. I am staying with in-laws, so I am in practice mode until I return home. I plan on starting induction for real right after the new year.