Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 09-26-2006, 09:26 AM   #1  
jyda730

S/C/G: 162/160/105

Height: 5'1"

Post Hello - This forum is just what I Need

Hello everyone!

I have just joined and am very excited that this forum is available. I hope you will allow me to join. After many years of personal tragedies and issues, I have decided to take control of my life! I am not new to lifting or exercise (I like to run). However, it just seems that my weight is escalating due to non-consistency and perhaps not using the correct weight and reps for my goal of toning and losing weight. I also need to increase my upper body strength, as this seems to help my running which has slowed dramatically (I am even beginning to hate running and I have been doing it since I was 18!). I am incorporating exercise videos and bicycling into my routine. I am a veteran and have been in pretty good health most of my life. As I am getting older, I know my metabolism has slowed and thus it is getting harder to get back in shape.

I love the traditional weight lifting exercises: dead lift, squats,etc. I am trying to incorporate a two-day split with a day of active rest in between training: upper, lower, rest. Even though I have a complete Parabody Machine with the leg press, free weights, a treadmill and a stationary bike in my house, I tried going to a gym (thought having people around would inspire me). I was so self conscious that I stopped going. I even hired a trainer, but didn't feel that she was making me work hard enough.

So, that's why I'm glad I found this forum. After reading many of the posts here, I feel that I can get some real advice and encouragement from women who workout hard and know that we can achieve amazing things!

Thanks for listening and I hope you can help me.
jyda730 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 10:43 AM   #2  
aka Superwoman!

S/C/G: SW:226/16st - about 50lbs lost

Height: 5'8"

Hello and welcome!