Chicks in Control Overeating? Binging? Share uplifting support and gain control!

Old 09-25-2006, 03:24 PM   #1  
Finding the hidden me

S/C/G: 212/203/150

Height: 5'7"

Talking Hello Everyone, I'm new and here is my story.

Hi all,
I am new to both 3FC, and this particular board. I've been posting on and off in the depression and weight issues board, but I feel that I also relate to you guys, so I decided to take the plunge and introduce myself.
I am an emotional eater. I never knew I was an emotional eater until my uncle, whom I was very close with died. When he died, I turned to food to make things better. I would eat all day long until I got physically ill, just thinking that the food was comforting me. I went from a nice 160lbs (I have 147 lbs lean body mass, I come from a family that farmed, so I've got a big build), to a whopping 224lbs in the period of two years.
All of the wieght I gained made me feel like a disgusting human being. Everyone told me I carried my weight well, and that they couldn't believe that I was 224lbs... but I could tell. It became hard to walk up the stairs, and I only left the house for school because I was just so depressed. All the while I ate.
One day, during my senior year in high school, I got a terrible migraine, which I thought was something more severe, so I rushed myself to my Doctor. I hadn't seen him in at least a year, and I had gained 40lbs since I last saw him. He couldn't believe it, so he ran tests on my thyroid and all of that, and we discovered that I have PCOS. I only got my period once every 3 months, but never thought that it was a bad thing. I was immediately put on birth control, and over time lost about 12 lbs of the many that I gained. The hormone regulation helped me reduce my weight, but didn't take all of it off, so I decided, just recently that I needed to do something more to take the extra weight off.