General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Closed Thread

Old 08-23-2006, 04:33 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 300/265/175

Height: 5'8

Question Counting Calories...

I need some help. I have been doing the good old counting calories and fat grams. This seems to work good for me and I'm losing around 2 pounds a week (which from what I hear is a healthy loss). I am curently taking in 1300 calories and 25-30 fat grams a day. Is this what I should be doing? I'm really not sure what my intakes should be and I'm fairly new to this sight, so I'm not sure where I should be looking for answers. So I am coming to you guys for the help and hoping you can lead me in the right directions.

Thank you for your time and help chicks!
Old 08-23-2006, 05:22 PM   #2  
Shairing her ESH...

S/C/G: 350/321/TBD

Height: 5'6"

Welcome Trinity!! I say if it's working for you, go for it!
Old 08-23-2006, 06:11 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 190/140/135

Height: 5'7"

I would be careful with fat - not all of it is bad, you need healthy fat everyday. I concentated on eating whole foods (avoiding processed crap) and my fat grams were always super super low. I had to actually try to eat good fat (nuts/nut butters, avocado, olive oil, salmon) to get enough every day. I try to get over 100 grams of protein every day and I try to make sure at least 20-25% of my calories come from healthy fats every day (Fitday is very good for tracking this).

To me, 1300 calories seems a little low to make sure you are getting adequate nutrition. Plus, if you plateau, you have very few options.
Old 08-23-2006, 08:16 PM   #4  

Glory, what do you suggest my calorie intake should be? I have about 100 pounds I want to lose. I just don't know where I should be starting. No diets I have tried have been a success. I am very determined to go about this one the right way without failure. I'm beyond confussed on where to start. Thanks for your opinion/help!