Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 06-24-2006, 04:38 PM   #1  

Default AM i crazy?

So ive been counting my calories for about 6 months now? everything everything everything, breakfast, lunch and dinner.. i even made my own dinner apart from my family because i didnt know the content of the foods, ive been in amaintenance mode for a while now and i started enjoying my dinners with the family for about 2 weeks now taking a hard guess and what i could possibly be eating, i offer to clean the chicken to make sure tehrs no extra fat, i watchw hen my moms cooking so i know whats going in it and etc etc etc, but my sister always made fun of me for measuring my food and counting calories, she calls me crazy and always asks me if im gonna live the REST of my life like this! and i thought about it, am i? i mena have any of you guys ever thought or dred having to count what you eat and sticking to solely that? im just wondering what everyones input is on counting calories and measuring every day and so on... any input? it never really bothered me but now that im always being ridiculed about it i really do think... im only 17, hopefully i have a long way to go in life still, but will i be doing this my whole life to mantain my weight?
Caramello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 04:49 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 190/140/135

Height: 5'7"

Like I said in your earlier thread, if you're tired of counting/measuring STOP and see what happens. If you've been counting calories for 6 months, you probably have a good idea of what a portion size LOOKS like and what a healthy day of eating LOOKS like.

Keep weighing yourself once a week and keep an eye on how your pants fit. If the scale stays steady and your pants fit well - everything is good. If the scale goes up and stays up after a few weeks or your pants feel snug, you might have to go back to counting for awhile until you feel more comfortable estimating portion sizes.