Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 06-05-2006, 09:37 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 220/189/150

Question new poster - would love some advice

Hi everybody. This is my first time posting at 3FC. I read the new book and loved it and would love some suggestions on where I go from here. I was always "shapely" growing up, not skinny but definitely not fat. I had 4 pregnancies after getting married at age 28 and that is when I went from about 135 to 200 pounds at 5'6". My highest weight was 220 this January and I've done weight watchers and I'm down to 187. My problem is that I have stopped losing for the past several months. I think WW with all of the activity points and flex points may be too much food to take me down to the next level. I exercise faithfully for half an hour almost every day on the treadmill. I really have difficulty adding to this, I'd rather lower my weight through my diet. I don't know where to go from here. I like freedom of choice so I thought I could stay on WW but go down to 22 points and no flex or AP. I've thought about counting calories on a low fat diet. Maybe 1200, or 1500? I've also considered TOPS- or an exchange system diet- but it seems that I'd like to exchange some of the proteins for breads in order to stay on it faithfully and I don't know if that is OK. I'm very motivated to continue to lose weight, but I'm very confused on how to approach it. I know that I need to find a method that works, even if it is slowly, that I can live with forever. Does anyone out there have any suggestions? Has anyone had a similar experience? I'd live to hear from you. Thanks.
remickmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 09:48 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 190/140/135

Height: 5'7"

It sounds like you are looking for a plan - have you thought about maintenance? What are you going to do when you reach your goal weight? Any of the things you mentioned - weight watchers, low fat diet, TOPS, etc - can you stick to any of that long term?