Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 03-19-2006, 04:13 PM   #1  

Default Herbal alternatives for depression

Well I'll admit it now despite snapping at everyone and going I'm not depressed I am at the moment I feel very stressed and unhappy with my life. but i'm not good with medicine I hate putting chemicals in my body so anyone got any ideas I can try first for herbal alternatives before going to the doctors?
impossible princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 06:18 PM   #2  
Lifelong Journey Member

Height: 5' 6"

Princess, I cold turkeyed all my meds in August and am doing better than I have in years. I'm using light therapy and exercise daily (recommend by p-doc although the cold turkey wasn't). I can't say through deep depressions this would work, but it's definitely working for me now.

Also, I know that St. John's Wort is supposed to be okay but I hear that SAM-e is better. All is heresay and I don't know for sure.

Good luck.
Marie
Marie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 04:21 AM   #3  

impossible princess it is a common misconception that herbal meds are "better" they're not. they're all chemicals no matter which way you look at it, and they all have side effects. Marijuana and opium are all "natural" or "herbal" but they are dangerous. Drugs are drugs natural or otherwise. The main advantage of herbals is that you don't need a prescription as you can get them OTC.

A lot of the stuff Marie has said helps - natural light or a light box, exercise, diet etc. Boring but true

Depending on how long you have been depressed it may be worth a visit to the doc. Also as depression can have other causes e.g. thyroid etc etc a doc may be able to help you with something that doesn't involve antidepressants