Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 02-23-2006, 05:22 PM   #1  

Default Overtraining?

Hi LWL. I'm a regular lurker here and have learned a lot from you all.

I've been lifting now for about two years and really, really like it. I found a program in "The Body Sculpting Bible for Women" that I've been doing and would like some advice please.

I don't know if anyone's familiar with it, but there is an advanced six week routine in the book that I've been doing. I mainly tried it to ramp things up a bit and to just plain old give myself a challenge. I've been on a very long weightloss plateau and thought I'd give this a try. I'm in week six now and it's kicking my butt!

The workout progresses in two week increments. You workout six days a week, cardio and lifting. Lifting exercises are divided up into three days (which you repeat during the week). They are divided into bicep & tricep day, leg day and chest & back day. The first two weeks are modified compound supersets, weeks 3 & 4 are supersets and then weeks 5 & 6 are giant sets. There's a lot more details, but I'll spare you all.

Anyway, to make a long post longer, how do you know when you're overtraining? I have felt great this whole six weeks, up until this week. I'm pooped and sore and my joints are hurting. I haven't lost any weight, but I do notice a change in shape.

I'm thinking of finishing the week and then doing a week of pure cardio and no lifting to let my muscles have a break and then starting the whole six week program over again. Do you all think it's too much? Is my body trying to tell me to cool it, or would it be beneficial to do it again? I would appreciate your thoughts!

Chickadee
Chickadee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 06:01 PM   #2