Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 01-21-2006, 07:57 PM   #1  
playin' for keeps

Default Hey runners! - How do I get faster?

Hey all,

I know that oodles of you out there are pretty serious runners. I'm a not-so-serious one.

I've been running for about 9 months now, and am super duper slow. Mostly, I'm okay with that. I run 2 miles in the morning 3 days a week (about 25 minutes) and 10K on Saturdays (usually about 83 minutes - yikes). I typically run outside. I've run 2 races now - I finished the 6 mile one in 1:19:50 (told ya I was slow) and the 10K last weekend in 1:15:37.

I'd like to get faster, but not sure how to accomplish it. I feel okay about pushing my speed on the short runs, and will try to start doing that, but I get panicky about running faster on the longer distances. I'm afraid I won't be able to make it to the end if I push harder at the beginning. Knowwhatimean?

Now that you know my whole history , anyone have any suggestions about getting faster? Some folks have mentioned interval training, others have suggested running longer distances (gasp! - I should run farther than 10K??)

I'd love to hear what y'all think.

cheers!
paula
cagirlygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 10:14 PM   #2  
5lbs fat vs 5 lbs muscle

Height: 5'6

I wanna know about this one too. I'm just waiting for an answer on this one because I run really slow but that's how I pace myself.
MrsDawsondn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 10:43 PM   #3  

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagirlygirl
I'd like to get faster, but not sure how to accomplish it.
The best way for you to get faster is to get to your goal weight. Don't worry about intervals right now, just focus on the diet, and run as many easy miles as you can. You can cut about 2-3 seconds per mile off your pace for every pounds that you lose.
ultraclyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 12:33 AM   #4