Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 10-12-2005, 08:53 PM   #1  

Height: 5'8

Default Help! Treadmill or Elliptical???

I need some input- I am ready to buy a machine, but I don't know which one- treadmill or elliptical. I am REALLY out of shape, so I know I can walk on a treadmill, but I also have bad knees and so I hear the elliptical is better. Which do you all prefer? and why???
Rizeninme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 09:34 PM   #2  
one leg press at a time

I would recommend the eliptical just for the fact, you can go for a walk just about anywhere, but the elipltical would be something you can' tdo everyday if you don't have the machine.
Firmgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 09:41 PM   #3  

I just tried an elliptical the other day for the first time. In my opinion, you get a more intense workout on the elliptical, but as I said, I have limited experience. I also have some knee troubles, and I didn't notice any problems on the elliptical.
amylizmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 09:49 PM   #4  

I have an elliptical trainer in my garage....I think you get a much better workout on the elliptical. I also have bad knees and it has very low impact on your knees. Hope this helps.
AndreaS30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 11:51 PM   #5  
it's always something

I have both, and prefer the treadmill
Suzanne 3FC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 12:30 AM   #6  
Ilene the Bean

I prefer the treadmill too...
Ilene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 12:39 AM   #7  

S/C/G: 240/ticker/120

Height: 5 foot 4