Old 10-12-2005, 03:09 PM   #1  

Default LAWL Learning Curve

I am still a newbie to this LAWL thing. DD & I joined on Friday, September 30. I weighed in at 190 pounds (5'7 ) I told them I wanted to lose 40 pounds. I purchased the Success plan, paying for 52 weeks. (same for DD)

Now, we actually started LA Express on Sunday, October 2. We had to have Friday and Saturday to get our last supper in!! On Saturday, I weighed in at 185. 4 which is 4.6 down in 6 days. DD was down 3.8 pounds from her original weight (having gained .5 on Express).

As I have been studying our "Menu Plan Kit" and the Free to Live tip cards, I am finding some of it a little hard to figure out. I am hoping that is what the counselors are for.

For example, while waiting last Monday, I wrote down all the calorie/fat/fiber of the LA Snacks that were on display in the waiting room.
Biscotti - 150/5/1 counts as 1 F, 1 S
Cereal Bar - 130/2/1 counts as 1 F, 1 S
LA Twists - 100/4/1 counts as 1 S
Low-fat popcorn - 120/3/1 counts as 1 S

So, why couldn't we have a 100 calorie pack of Cheese Nips (DD favorite) for 1 S? Or, a 100 calorie pack of Pringles? If a Biscotti counts as 1 F & 1 S - then why couldn't I have a Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich (140/3/1) and count it the same?

I'm truly not trying to be difficult. I am trying to get me some flexibility here.

The Free to Live tip cards offer a lot more options, such as M & M peanuts (small bag you buy at a convenience store) for 2 S, 2 Fa. Since that is permissible, then, couldn't I count a fun size bag of M & M's as 1 S?

Do you see where I am going? I know these wouldn't be things I would eat every day (although the LA Snacks you can have 1 per day. It even says "if you choose to have 2 per day, do so in moderation")

Are these things that the counselor can help with? Or, will it become another sales pitch for LA Snacks and bars?