Old 08-01-2005, 09:16 PM   #1  
30lbs gone forever!!

Default What do you think of my new exercise plan?

My weight loss has slowed down considerably, so I figure it's time for me to start doing more exercise than just walking. I'm joining a gym when I get paid at the end of the week and I will start going next Monday (the 8th). Anyway, here is what I have planned for a workout.

Monday - 1 hour
30 minutes fast walking
15 minutes weights
15 minutes high impact cardio

Wednesday - 2 hours
30 minutes fast walking
30 minutes swimming laps
30 minutes weights
30 minutes high impact cardio

Friday - 2 hours (same as Wednesday)
30 minutes fast walking
30 minutes swimming laps
30 minutes weights

Sunday - 2 hours
30 minutes weights
1 hour swimming laps

Does that sound ok? I'm kinda new to this stuff, so I was hoping some of the gym veterans here can give me a little input. Now all I have to do is go shopping for some new sneakers and a couple new pairs of sweatpants because the ones I own now are so baggy I'd be embarrassed to go out in public wearing them lol.

Last edited by krysidaisy; 08-01-2005 at 09:20 PM. Reason: Edited cause the chart I posted was wacky lol!
krysidaisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 09:57 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 274/?/175

Height: 5'8

Hi Krysi-

I think it's really up to you to decide how much/often you want to work out. The workout plan you outlined sounds great! you might find that when you start doing it regularly you'll want to switch the order/activities, and that's fine. Personally, I try to fit in what I can, and it helps to go at approximately the same time every day- makes it more of a routine than a general "i'll go after work" idea- which, while it probably works for a bunch of nicely motivated and inspired people, just won't for me. I've also found that it's helpful to do two or three different things for cardio, as long as I'm consistent about the intensity- it breaks it up on the days that I feel sluggish.