Chicks in Control Overeating? Binging? Share uplifting support and gain control!

Closed Thread

Old 05-26-2001, 08:42 AM   #1  

Dear soon to be friends( I hope):

Hi! I am a newbie. I saw that there is a separate forum to seek buddies, but I thought I would try here first.
It seems I have had one eating disorder or another since I was a teenager. ( I am 41 now). I was anorexic as a teenager, then abused laxatives, and exercise. Now I am a complusive overeater. I have come to the conclusion that diets do not work ( at least for me, that is...)
I have begun researching, and trying, the no diet method of getting rid of my obsession with food and my weight. There are alot of good ideas out there, like Geneen Roth's approach and the information you can find at the overcoming overeating website. I have just read a book by the "Fat Fairy Godmother" (silly name, I know, but really full of common sense info.) Her real name is Glinda West, by the way...
ANYWAY, I am following a no diet approach to learn how to become a normal eater, and I am looking for email buddies for mutual support and help. My pattern has been that I do well for a few days following a "no diet approach" ( eating when hungry, stopping when I'm satisfied, eating what I REALLY want, etc) then I overeat, or eat when I'm not really hungry, and of course, I feel I've BLOWN it, and then I complusively overeat for a few days until I guess I've "punished" myself enough, and then I begin the program again.... What I really need to do is get it into my head that there is no such thing as "blowing it', and go on....
ANYWAY (sorry this is so long.. I'm starting to ramble in my old age LOL) I am looking for email buddies who are trying the no diet approach to ending their complusive overeating, so we can support each other.
If my situation sounds like yours, I would love to hear from you. Thanks everyone for reading this, and good luck to ALL who are struggling with ANY eating disorder!! God bless you!