Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 03-25-2005, 09:41 PM   #1  

Question how to start?

i'm new here, and i'm just starting out dieting. i've finally realized that although people have been calling me fat for a while, that i need to do this for myself, and not for anyone else. i am just having so much trouble starting my diet, and i was wondering if anyone else had ever felt this way, and how they got through it. at times, i feel motivated - i even joined the gym! but somehow, i just can't bring myself to excersise. i start out my day wanting to eat right, but as it goes on, it is impossible for me to resist the urges that i have to eat. it's frustrating, because i really do want this. how can i kick start myself?

thanks so much....

Last edited by tickledpink0987; 03-25-2005 at 09:46 PM.
tickledpink0987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 01:06 AM   #2  
Delicious Microwaved!

Hi Tickledpink

Don't despair! I think it's safe to say that pretty much everyone who has lost weight has wrestled with the same issues that you currently face--I know I did

How to get started depends a lot, I think, on how much weight you have to lose. If you have a significant amount of weight to lose (let's say 20 lbs or more), then it's important to remember that any positive changes you make in your eating habits and activity level will eventually show results. Since you say you're having problems keeping your motivation up throughout the day, I would recommend this: Whenever you are about to eat, try to take a slightly healthier option than your first choice. So, if you're about to eat bacon at breakfast, maybe try ham instead--and skip the butter on your toast; about to eat a candy bar? Substitute a granola bar, chocolate milk, or only eat half of the candy bar and toss the rest; Getting a sub/sandwhich that you would usually order with cheese? Have them hold the cheese. Or, only eat half of the roll.