Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 08-09-2004, 11:45 AM   #1  

Default First Day on BFL!!!!!! :) Need some advice!

Hi Everyone,

Today was day 1 for me on Body for Life. I bought the book last week, read it, and did a trial cardio day plus a trial lower body day to see if it was for me. I decided to go for it and see what happens starting today.

A little background on me - I am a 25 year old PCOSer, who was lean, muscular, and active until I began to "unexplicably" gain weight in college. I have been losing and gaining the same 35 lbs for the past 5 years...everytime I swore it would be the *last* time, and it was, until something happened Whether it was a new job or tearing 2 ligaments in my ankle, it led to me feeling down, throwing good eating habits out the window, and to stop going to the gym. I've been on South Beach since February, going to physical therapy for my ankle 2x week, was back at the gym and have found myself very close to my goal weight, YAY!

To my dismay, that body I always took for granted, the one I had under all that fat, isn't there anymore. In fact, my goal weight leaves me at a dress size higher than I used to be at the same weight 6 years ago. I've lost a lot of muscle and I want it back! My "normal" gym workouts aren't cutting it. There's only so much cardio I can do with my ankle (an hour of walking or 20 min of walk/run, or 10 min of run) and my standard of three sets of 8-12, raise the weight when it gets easy routine. That led me to investigate BFL.

So after a great day 1, good upper body workout, I have a few QUESTIONS about my BFL bicep routine:

Bicep Curl:
Set 1 - 8 lbs x12
Set 2 - 10 lbs x10
Set 3 - 12 lbs x8
Set 4 - 15 lbs x6
Set 5 - 12 lbs x12

Hammer Curl:
Set 6 - 10 lbs x12