Old 06-10-2004, 06:03 PM   #1  
Serious Ju Ju!

S/C/G: 260/see ticker /175

Height: 5 10 ( I hate being taller than all the cute guys!!!)

Default New with lots of ????

Hi everyone!

My name is Shelley and I am new to Atkins and this board. I started on June 7th after seeing the great results my mother and brother had on the program. I've done Susan Powter for years with no impact. I've stayed under 30 grams of fat per day and I've gone up, down and everyplace inbetween. It just didn't work for me. My mom has lost 30 plus pounds since Easter and my brother 40 plus since February. So, here I am, ready to try something new.

I have to say that eating all this meat and cheese takes some getting used to. On the SP diet, it was almost unheard of the eat this way. Im trying to be open minded and realize that it didn't work for me, so I shouldn't be treating it like a religion. I started Atkins monday and I have lost 4 pounds so far. But I do have alot of questions, as I haven't read the book yet (Getting it this weekend). Hoping you can fill me in!

I understand induction to be meat, cheese and eggs. Is there a max or minimum quanty or is it as needed to feel satisfied? Going back to my low fat training, it seems nuts to eat so much fat.

How much cheese is ok? Is there any prescribed amount?

Does everyone get the shakes and feel weak or is it just me?

And why does my stomach feel like I have 20 pounds of raw meat in it? (Yikes, maybe because I didn't eat much meat on the low fat diet?

I have been doing 0 - 5 carbs per day. Is that ok or should I be eating more? I just want to get this fat off once and for all.

Yikes, lots of questions. Im sure they will be answered when I get the book. In the mean time, any help from you would be appreciated!

I can't wait to become part of your group! Your posts are so inspiring!

Thanks for listening (Reading?) as I rambled on!

Shelley
seashell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 07:19 PM   #2  

Hey