Does it Work? Unsure if the latest product or service lives up to it's claims? From popular products to the latest scams, discuss it here before you buy!

Closed Thread

Old 03-15-2004, 12:54 PM   #1  

Default So what IS the answer?

Hello all,

This is my first time posting but I have read the board a little bit. In fact, I've read myself in circles, hence my posting this overasked question today.

I do completely understand that diet & exercise is the only real way to lose weight, but what can/should a person take if they have a slow metabolism?(And thyroid condition.) Are there things that really do help speed up metabolism and burn fat? (Along with diet & exercise, of course.)

I've tried lots of diets and I always lose slow so I do the diet I enjoy most (since the results are always the same), which is Atkins. I follow the 8 minute workout per day routine (weightlifting without rest for cardio benefit); and cardio, well, I should do more.

I want to take something to boost weight loss, but don't know what---mostly because I just don't believe in any of it, I think (?). I am just having a really hard time losing weight and it's discouraging, so I thought I might get some tips here in terms of what supplement(s) to add, possibly.

Many thanks!
Old 03-15-2004, 03:26 PM   #2  
Uber-Moderator!!

Good question!

On the thyroid issue, I've asked Meg - moderator of the Maintainers Forum here at 3FC - to respond to your question, since I don't have thyroid problems myself.

This is going to sound old hat to you, but I would suggest keeping a food journal for a few days (preferably more). Keep track of every bite of food you take and see how many calories you're actually taking in. You might be surprised (on the other hand, I've found that when I food journal, I tend to eat LESS than I would otherwise - there's a great deal to be said about self-accountability).