Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 05-26-2017, 01:12 AM   #1  

Default Stress and Binging

I'm new to this. I figured, I've tried a lot of things but I've never really reached out. I guess I can be quite introverted. My job is incredibly stressful and tiring and takes up most of my day. Once I get home I don't want to do anything other than eat. I could spend 2-3 hours eating meals and munching. ****, as I write this I'm thinking about a damn piece of cheese in the fridge I've been craving for the past hour. Absolutely no willpower anymore. How do I get it back? How do I stop thinking about food all the time? How do I stop using it as comfort for my life? All ideas are welcome. I'm just so uncomfortable and I need help and advice. Thanks.
dairydemons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 05:49 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 230/230/140

Height: 5'7"

You're not alone. I was literally just googling this, because I am a binge eater. It feels like an addiction, and I know I'm doing it to bury boredom and negative emotions in my life, but somehow I always end up back in this place.

So, I'm right there with you. Right now I am trying to keep myself busy to avoid going to the kitchen and eating the glut of nutritionally deficient and sugar loaded snacks in there (we have leftover cupcakes from a birthday party).

I feel like the more cravings I overcome, the easier they will be to overcome. The urge will always be there (that's why I always find myself fighting or gaining), but psychologically I understand that I need to build a habit of saying "no" and retrain my neural pathways.

In short, though, my current strategy is to ride out the cravings. Acknowledge it, ride it out, and try to distract myself as much as possible.

And hope that I require less and less distraction over time.