Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 11-17-2014, 06:46 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 164/158/137

Height: 5'5

Default Work as an obstacle

Does anyone else have the problem of work getting in the way of losing weight?

I work in the charity sector and so am massively overworked all the time, hardly ever get time to take lunch, get home late and am exhausted when I get home!

I always have the best plans to eat healthily at the start of the week, but I'm literally so exhausted when I get home that if I haven't already prepared food, there's no hope of cooking.

And I want to join a gym again but, again, am exhausted and it would take me a while to get to an affordable one on public transport.

Any suggestions? Other than quitting my job, which I will do in a few months anyway!

Kitkat
Kitkat1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 07:35 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 220/ticker/145

Height: 5'

Preach it sister! I hear you, KitKat because I'm experiencing much of the same. I work on a college campus where my former position was similar to being an independent contractor. While my hours were set, I worked with a lot of students on a daily basis, had a supervisor that fully supports autonomy of her staff (but had no staff of my own), and often had Friday's off. I was running 3 times a week, lifting twice a week and walking regularly. I was a machine because the type of job I had allowed it. Flash forward three years and I'm now in a position with numerous moving parts, supervising a small staff of 2, and working at least one weekend day each week. I've gained 40 pounds.

Unless my lotto dream comes true (and I don't even play ), it is up to me to figure out how to find the right balance. I do think job stress has interfered with my weight loss but it's a slippery slope, right? I don't want to use my job as an excuse because I know others who have had far more going on in their lives and still manage to crack the code by putting the effort into it.