Weight Loss Surgery If you've had it, or are considering it, share your discussions here

Old 02-20-2014, 08:03 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 311/270/170

Height: 5'9"

Default 6 Month Waiting Period

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting, but I've been a reader for years! This past year, I did the Atkins Diet and I lost 70 pounds. Then it stopped... so I stopped. I've had a brutal on and off carb fight for months now, and I've gained 30 pounds. I've decided that this is the right decision for me. My boyfriend had the surgery 14 months ago, and he lost 250 pounds. He feels so much better in every way!

I love that I have his support, but how to you manage when you don't have support from others? I am dealing with REGULAR phone calls from my mother with statistics and side effects and horror stories, and I really can't take it anymore. I've asked her several times to step back and to support me. I've acknowledged her concerns, but it's my decision to make.

Also, how do you find motivation in your waiting period? My insurance gave me a 6 month notificaation period. I'm 1 month down... nothing scheduled yet.

I look forward to getting to know you all!
gnoff886 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 08:11 PM   #2  
Old Cackler

hey there, gnoff!! well, you know you're making a huge step here. Now, about your mother. ummmm. have you considered moving forward WITHOUT her support?

and here's what i mean by that: you love her, she loves you. she wants the best for you and she's worried. you've done your research [right?] and made your decision. Is there anything that she can say that'll change your mind? if there is, then you're not ready for the surgery. But if there isn't A THING she can say to change your decision, then, IT'S YOUR DECISION and you can move forward without her support.

doesn't mean she won't worry about you, but this decision is yours to make, to own. And, as we've been discussing on another thread, RELATIONSHIPS WILL CHANGE. and so it starts.