Old 02-19-2013, 03:02 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 224/202/175

Default Shift Workers???

Okay I don't know if this have been discussed here recently...but for all the shift workers out there (nurses, doctors, other healthcare professionals) How do you make time to get in all your points when sometimes working crazy hours?

I am a nurse, and i work long shifts. Sometimes i have a hard time eating enough while at work and once i get off i am starving i run the risk of over eating.

HELP!
1brwneyebeauti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:02 PM   #2  
Claim it ,Achieve it!

S/C/G: 212/104.2/120

Height: 5'2"

I work nights 7p-7a and I work them in a row.
Have enough food for couple of days with me in case I get stuck somewhere I will always have food. I pack veggies raw to eat,packet of tuna (eat right from packet) and shaker bottle for my protein shakes that I can guzzle easily on the run or while charting. Drink tons of water so at beginning of shift I get extra ice that will end up melting and I will drink in between pts and charting.
Red Pepper eat whole like Apple and Cucumber whole and bring a peeler so it's fresh and also case I don't get a chance to eat it !
I try to eat major part on 1 st night before leaving for work or starting work ,so I cut the day at midnight. And count after midnight into the next day,which is totally different how night people truly eat but I find this keeps me on program.
I can have a protein drink for the ride home if need to ..or I eat when I get home.then get up which would be like a lunch and eat lightly and lay back down.
I hope this helps I am a plain eater so this works for me I would not even bother to try to take something that requires more time to eat cuz as you well know you might not be eating till 4-5am sometimes and you would be missing part of your food. Good Luck,Roo2
Oh I forgot a large Black coffee in a thermal cup that can be reheated.
Tea for Ice or Hot Tea too.. I have quite a stash in my Backpack