Closed Thread

Old 06-03-2012, 08:56 PM   #1  

Default 6 weeks into program and need help

I've been on the program for 6 weeks using a mix of IP and alternatives. Up until last week (WI 5) I was down 14 and happy. WI 6 I only lost 1 pound in total but 3 pounds of fat (go figure). This week's WI, both good news and bad news. I lost 3 pounds, but my body fat% went from 17.6% to 21%. I don't get it. My coach wants me to move to phase 2 as well as an extra protein pack. Doesn't sound correct to me. While she is a nice lady, I question her knowledge. She has never even heard of keto sticks. Any suggestions?
Old 06-03-2012, 09:42 PM   #2  

Is your body burning muscle? I think phase 2 you eat protein at noon and dinner and maybe adding an extra packet to that will put you back into fat burning mode. I would def try it!!
Old 06-04-2012, 06:10 AM   #3  

It does make sense, because the greatest part of the diet is that we don't lose muscle, just fat. So, (I'm no expert, just a good listener) from what I understand- your in starvation mode when you are losing muscle. Same thing happened to me, I added another packet or 3 egg whites to my plan and viola- I started losing even more weight even though I am eating more! I love this diet! If you have trust in your coach, I would listen to her. I was losing very very slowly before adding more food. Now, I'm losing at a nice pace.
Old 06-05-2012, 03:36 AM   #4  

I started IP Nov 5, 2011 at 195.8 lbs.

Weeks 1 and 2 I lost 4#/week, then weeks 3-7 I lost 3#/ week. Then at week 8 I started slowing down, but also was the holidays with too many treats always around at the office! Currently, I am two thirds to goal and my losses are 1-2 #/week.

I have never measured body fat, only weight on the scale. However, I have noticed these things affecting my scale weight:

constipation
water retention after having the salty chips (Southwest especially)
being dehydrated makes an artificially low wt that bounces back as soon as I replenish.