Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 04-29-2012, 05:35 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 200/200/125

Height: 5'7"

Default Hello! So happy to be here!

Hello everyone! I'm CarbonCat, and I'm a writer in Washington, DC. I've recently moved here after 12 years in NYC to start a new job. I love my job, love my dear old friend I moved in with, and love my new gym! However, I don't love my body. I used to teach aerobics when I was in college, and I weighed 125 pounds. However, I also had an eating disorder, alternately binging/purging and restricting.

I'm now 40 (41 in two weeks!) and weighed in in early March at 200 pounds. I gained a lot of weight on psych meds, which helped me get over my eating disorder but wreaked havoc on my body. Five years ago, I went through an awful breakup, and because I was heartbroken and scared to date again, I became very reclusive and drowned my sorrows in food. I was 165 lbs at the time, and in decent shape from yoga and belly dance. Obviously that's not the case anymore.

One year ago, I injured my shoulder badly, and couldn't lift my arm over my head. My shoulder became frozen, which necessitated six months of physical therapy. I fell into a deep depression, and because I'm a writer and was working from home, I pretty much just stayed on the couch and cried, ate, and wrote.

Things are looking up now, though. I have a great new teaching job, I'm not isolating myself (as much) anymore, and I'm very committed to working out again. The passion I used to have for exercise has come back. I've lost four pounds since March 15, which isn't a lot, but it's very encouraging! I hope to get my body back to the point where I feel comfortable taking dance classes again. I used to be in a tribal-style belly dance company in NYC, and I really, really miss it.