Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 04-08-2012, 05:41 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 205/160/130

Height: 5' 8"

Default Trying to lose weight in Korea

Hello, I'm kind of new here and I'm wondering if there is anyone else here that is in the same or similar situation as me. Right now I'm an English teacher in Seoul, South Korea, and I'm desperately trying to lose weight but failing miserably. I had hoped coming here would help me in my weight loss but I've actually gained weight. I try to eat Korean food and healthy things but I'm really stressed and often binge eat. Also, it's very easy to feel ostracized here if I don't go out to eat with the other teachers all the time. I'm trying to limit it to once a week but it's difficult. I don't know what to do.

A few years ago I lost 65 lbs but I gained back 20 after studying in Japan (why is it these skinny, supposedly healthy countries make me gain weight??) and I really want to lose the weight I gained back and finally reach my goals. (And I want to do it in a healthy way too - last time was not.) It's so hard seeing all these super skinny Korean girls walking around in their tiny clothes that I can never buy. And now that's it's getting to be spring it's even harder since I won't be able to hide under my long coat anymore.

I'd appreciate any advice from anyone who's been in this situation - living in Korea, etc... Thanks.
kimkyu88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 10:22 AM   #2  

My family is from China/Hong Kong.
First, maybe you should start out with a higher goal? I'm not saying you shouldn't go to 120, but it is underweight (even in Asian standards) and will take a lot of calorie restriction-that is stressful and won't help with binging.
Even if the food is healthy-we can gain weight from eating too much of anything. Try the Mifflin St Joer calculator
http://www.scientificpsychic.com/health/cron1.html