Old 02-14-2012, 11:06 AM   #1  

Default Job stress is freaking me out!

Hi all. I work at this really crappy job. I hate complaining because I searched for over a year for a job, but it is stressing me out. My boss is kind of like the boss from Devil Wears Prada except that I don't work in a glam place at all lol. The last 2 assistants quit. There's one assistant right now who used to have my position a year ago and still comes in sometimes. The assistant was the "perfect admin assistant" - think of Energizer Bunny (even has sleeping issues) so she is always "on" and I'm afraid that no matter how hard I try, I can't be as perfect as she is, so I look even worse in comparison. She just says these really biting things. I would leave except that when I was searching for jobs, a lot of them wants a few years of full time experience, and I graduated from 2010 with no real experience other than part time internships. I mean maybe I'll still leave on a bad note but I'd at least like to try to leave on a good note so that I can move on to a better job.
Everyone secretly calls her crazy and that "its not me" but i'm alone in the office a lot with her and when its rainy...and shes in a bad mood...oh geez!!
I'm trying to put a positive spin on this-it makes me even MORE determined not to stress eat because its not worth regaining all my weight. It also gives me more incentive to not let this job take over my life cause I'll get criticized anyways and put effort in moving on.
Anyways, I've always been a rather meek person and I am getting better at brushing things off (normally her moods freak me out all day and now after an hour or so I feel a lot better) but its really hard for me not to feel like "ahhh I didn't get this thing done!! I'm ruining the company!" even if its something super minor when she says mean things. I guess thats what happens in a tough job economy...
Thank you all for reading =(
pixelllate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 11:55 AM   #2