Chicks in Control Overeating? Binging? Share uplifting support and gain control!

Old 05-23-2011, 01:22 PM   #1  

Default What do you do to stay consistent and on track?

Hi all,

I am just beginning this journey (again) and am dealing with alot of feelings of possible failure (again).

I have about 50 lbs I need to lose. I have tried several times to stay on a diet/exercise plan and usually make it to about 10 lbs lost then stop and gain the 10lbs back.

I'll cheat and maybe have some ice cream or a candy bar or skip a day of exercise and before I know it, I'm totally off the diet. I know from several attempts at this that if I slip once, I have such guilt and feel like I've failed that i just give up.

Anyone else experienced this? If so, what did you do?
I am a perfectionist in this manner and I know it's not healthy, I cannot be perfect. How do I actually get through those thoughts?
Seeing others who have lost 50-100 lbs inspire me, yes. But everytime I fail at losing weight, I remember those people and feel like such a big failure. It's really tough.

Right now to keep myself consistent, I have:
-joined this site for support
-set myself up a blog to journal the whole experience
-have got a food/exercise journal that i plan to set by the week
-offered myself "awards" for reaching every 10 lb goal

What do you guys do to stay on track day by day? Any advice would be awesome or if you have been able to overcome the feelings of perfectionism/feelings of failure, what did you do?

Thanks!
boatgirl16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 01:55 PM   #2  
Just keep swimming...

S/C/G: 244/see ticker/150

Height: 5'7"

Hey Boatgirl!

Well, I am into Day 19 of no binging, so not too much, but I can share what has helped me so far!

First of all, ALL the things you listed (blog, journal, etc) are definitely things that have helped me these days!!! Those are all great!