Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 04-06-2011, 09:41 AM   #1  

Height: 5'8

Default Losing weight the healthy way post-anorexia

Hi, I'm Cassie. I'm new to to 3fc and was wondering if anyone has had an experience similar to mine. Ever since I can remember, I've been self conscious of my body image. I went very quickly from a plump kid to an anorexic teen... My lowest weight was 112lbs at 5'8, which of course was very unhealthy. I got help at 16 and put on weight to where I was a slim, but healthy 130lbs.

Then I met my boyfriend. As most relationships go, you get happy and comfortable, so you gain weight together. He gained and lost his, I just kept gaining. Over the past six years, I've attempted to lose the weight every day. But the only way I've ever really known how to approach my weight was to go to the farthest ends of the spectrum, starving and binging. For years I've been packing on the pounds because of this cycle of starving for days, then a big binge. Over six years I've packed on nearly ninety pounds...I still can't believe it...all through NOT eating enough! The toll I've taken on my metabolism has been massive. Even though I've been out of this starve/binge cycle for about a year now, my metabolism hasn't seemed to bounce back at all. Now I'm motivated to lose this excess weight the healthy way and for good. I still struggle with the old me, some days it's hard not to fall back into that useless cycle.

So, I know I'm not alone, but I've never talked to anyone who's gone through anything similar...what are your tips? How did you kick start your metabolism? How do you deal with the urge to go back when you get depressed?

Thanks for reading!
cassie
dnnrca1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 01:19 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 194/171/155

Height: 5'11"