Old 01-18-2011, 04:59 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 295/278/160

Height: 5'7

Default How the heck do I figure this out?

So I started counting calories a week ago. SparkPeople said I should eat 1200-1550 calories a day, so that's been my daily goal. I have stuck within it (except for 1 day), and lost 6lbs in a week.AWESOME....but am I eating enough calories?

My pre-weight loss life consisted of VERY little day time eating, and mostly snacking late in the evening, with almost no exercise.

Now I eat 3 meals and 2 snacks a day (most days, some days, like today, I may nap and miss a meal), and walk about 2 miles a day (at a fast walk).

Is this enough? Am I doing it right? I have never done this before,and just kind of jumped in blind.

Also, do you allow yourselves to have things like, Thinsations for example? I realize they don't have a lot of nutrients, I just thought they may be an easy way to avoid a binge, especially if you're one of those gals (like me) who craves chocolate at TOM.

I would LOVE any help I can get here. I want to be successful, and I want to be sure I am making the right choices, and have very little, except this site, and my SparkPeople to go on.
OhMyDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 05:43 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 171/160/120

Height: 5 feet- if I really stretch

I'm not a calorie counter - but it sounds like you are working in the right range - you are losing weight but not depriving yourself of valuable nutrients. I don't do things like Thinsations because I have zero willpower, and it would trigger a binge of magnificent proportions! Congratulations on the 6 pound weight loss - it sounds like you're off to agreat start!
Tea Granny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 05:47 PM   #3  
Soul Cyster

S/C/G: 235/seeticker/135

Height: 5'3"

As long as you aren't feeling famished you are probably okay though I would stick closer to the 1550 calories and never really go below 1500.