Old 06-16-2010, 12:48 PM   #1  
!

S/C/G: 225/tick tock tick tock/130

Height: 5'4"

Talking Weight Watchers dropout (what's different about calorie counting?)

Hi, my name is Theresa, and I'm a Weight Watchers drop out. I've been doing WW online for a few months now. It's more or less working, but I just can't stomach paying $17-some a month for a fancy calorie counter. Yikes.

So I'm switching! Yay!

What should I know that's really different? Besides no longer getting extra credit for fiber (boo!), is there any thing that tripped you up when switching from WW to calorie counters? What do you use to track your calories?

Questions questions questions.
theresac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:09 PM   #2  
Starting Fresh

Height: 5'2"

Honestly - they are the same. I think the big difference is veggies have calories - no more zeros there. Although, I have read of some calorie counters that don't count veggies.

Overall, I find calorie counting easier and it works better for me [then weight watchers]! Good luck!

Oh and for counting, I use SparkPeople - I find it the fastest. Its not my fav site out there, but it is the quickest for entering my food. I also like the member database, so you can almost always find what you are looking for. The only problem is calories of foods differ in Canada so I find a lot of things are off by 5 or 10 calories, but I don't worry about it too much.

Last edited by sotypical; 06-16-2010 at 01:12 PM.
sotypical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:11 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 203/see ticker/140

Height: 5'5"

I use the dailyplate. It is awesome -- it has way more food and options than the WW online calculator. It makes calorie counting extremely simple.
girlinwaterglobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:15 PM   #4  
I luv my curves

S/C/G: 255/ticker/180

Height: 5'1 3/4

I also like thedailyplate.com its awesome with a huge data base!

What I like about calorie counting is that its FREE!