Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 05-01-2010, 08:19 AM   #1  

Arrow Last Chance Breakfast! What You Eat Before Race/Workout?

I'm new to c25k, about to begin week 3, and during a casual early morning wake up walk of 2 miles, I decided to try to jog part of it. Big mistake. I didn't have anything in me (this was about 7 minutes into my walk) and quit the jog after perhaps a minute or so.

This got me thinking as to perhaps my non existent breakfast of a small glass of orange juice could be the culprit. I usually have a well rounded breakfast consisting of about 350 to 400 calories, but this walk was a pre-breakfast walk.

I feel like my overall biggest boost of energy occurs around 1pm, which, looking way down the road at 5k races, won't help me a bit since they usually seem to occur around 8am.

Any input toward what I should be eating for breakfast, perhaps the night before dinner, etc. would be greatly helpful. I'd rather learn now and incorporate a few changes rather than being bombarded down the road with an early morning race. Background: I tend to wake up naturally around 6:30-7am, all days of the week including weekends. Bedtime: 10:30-11, occasionally 11:30.

Maybe others have questions on what to eat and when while preparing for a race/workout?

Thank you so much in advance!
redsox33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 08:44 AM   #2  
Tellin' it like it is!

S/C/G: RESTART:153.5/147/135

Height: 5'4"

for a 5k your normal breakfast is sufficient......your normal routine... i hope your normal routine includes at least SOME carbs/protein/fat combo?

for any workout, carbs are going to be your main source of fuel. Theres no reason to "carbo-load" for any distance but a marathon....or half-marathon if you are planning on taking 3-4 hours to complete it
mkroyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 09:17 AM   #3