Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 04-15-2010, 07:40 PM   #1  
natalie

S/C/G: 260/171.2/145

Height: 5'7"

Default How do I prepare for a 5K?

Does anyone know where I can get a running program to help me get ready for an upcoming 5K? I found some website with a free program designed for you depending on what your mile/5K time is and how long you have and what kind of race it is, but I didn't bookmark it...

Otherwise, does anyone have advice? Cos from here I'm having trouble with my running. I graduated the couch to 5K program and I can run for 30 minutes straights (or jog rather lol, my mile time is down to ~12:30). But now that I don't have a structured program, I find it hard to move up at all. The thought of increasing my time seems too hard, and I keep trying but after 30 minutes I'm like "ok I'm done!"

I have less than a month and at this point, I can only run a little over 2 miles. Maybe 2.5, but definitely not 3.1...
oodlesofnoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 07:55 PM   #2  

You could use the booklet we got in the meetings last week for WW 5K.
QuilterInVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 08:10 PM   #3  
Happiness is not a weight

Height: 5' 8"

Search for the Couch to 5K program (C25K) on here - there are tons of posts about it. I think you can get the complete program at Coolrunning.com. Plenty of people have even made free podcasts you can download to listen to while you're training. Got me through my first 5k!
smisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 08:12 PM   #4  
PCOS/IR/Hypothyroid

Height: 5'8"

Hal Higdon

http://www.halhigdon.com/5K%20Training/index.htm

Jeff Galloway

http://www.jeffgalloway.com/training/5k.html

Cool Running
http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_4/146.shtml

I've used them all. Probably like Galloway best.

HTH!
A.
astrophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 08:48 PM   #5  
natalie